Minimum of English Grammar, Volume II

By Joseph Galasso
©2013, 288 pages

Paperback list price: $ 92.95

Cognella Direct Ebook: $70.95

You save $22 (24%)

Learn about all formats available for adoption

Bookstore Managers: contact orders@cognella.com to place an order

Customize Minimum of English Grammar, Volume II

* Required Fields

Your Customization
cover--61822353580597-1A-URT
Minimum of English Grammar, Volume II

In stock

$70.95

Summary
    Minimum of English Grammar, Volume II provides comprehensive exploration of Feature Theory Grammar., which breaks down the components of traditional "parts-of-speech" words, allowing for fine-grained analysis. Minimum of English Grammar correlates Feature Theory Grammar to the Periodic Table, tinkering with sub-particles of words to show how isolated features project one phrase over another, and contribute to particular phrasings. The book presents the kind of theoretical syntax that is highly regarded among Chomskyan linguists. Minimum of English Grammar, Volume II is a handbook that gives students with an introductory background in linguistics the opportunity for further analysis and consideration of the finer points of specific linguistic theory. Special attention is given to the articulation of tree structures and analyses. The book includes exercises, giving students the opportunity to apply the concepts discussed.

    Beginning with an examination of tree template structures, the book moves through case theory, phrase expansion, and child language development of structure. Specific topics include:

    • Case Marking and Theta Marking
    • Merge Operations
    • Accusative and Nominative Cases
    • Object Permanence
    • Theory of Mind

    The appendices and glossaries of definitions and abbreviations help students maximize their understanding of the content. The book is an excellent follow-up text to Minimum of English Grammar, Volume I, but can also be used effectively as a stand-alone text.

    A well-respected syntactician in the tradition of Noam Chomsky, Dr. Joseph Galasso has two recent publications on young children’s utterances that postulate the nature of the innate language capability based on actual data: “Small Children’s Sentences are ‘Dead on Arrival’: Remarks on a Minimalist Approach to Early Child Syntax” in Journal of Child Language Acquisition and Development and the monograph “From Merge to Move: A Minimalist Perspective on the Design of Language and its Role in Early Child Syntax (LINCOM Studies in Theoretical Linguistics 59. 238pp. 2016). A follow-up monograph on syntax was published in 2019 entitled “Recursive Syntax: A Minimalist Perspective on Recursion as the Core Property of Human Language and tis Role in the Generative Grammar Enterprise: (with Special Notes on Dual Mechanism Model, Problems of Projection, Proto-language, Recursive Implementation in AI, and the Brain”). His work has appear in The Oxford Handbook of Developmental Linguistics (2016) (eds. Jeffrey L. Lidz, William Snyder, and Joe Pater).

    Dr. Galasso is a faculty member in the departments of English and Linguistics at California State University, Northridge, and serves as an adjunct faculty member of linguistics at California State University, Long Beach.
    Other Cognella titles by Joseph Galasso:

    Formats and Bulk Order Pricing for Confirmed Adoptions

    Publisher Direct Versions — Available through the Cognella Student Store for confirmed adoptions

    $70.95
    Best Value!
    Publisher Direct Ebook Publisher Direct ebooks are available in your Cognella account immediately after purchase and provide access for 180 days. Our ebooks run on RedShelf, VitalSource, or in some cases, must be accessed via Adobe Digital Editions, a free software program.
    $82.95
    Ships Free!
    Publisher Direct Paperback These special, discounted paperback editions are sold exclusively through the Cognella Student Store (store.cognella.com) for confirmed adoptions. They are not available through other retailers. The books are printed on demand, do not have an ISBN, and are not intended for resale, which results in savings we pass along to students. Most Publisher Direct Paperbacks also come with free, immediate access to the first 30% of the ebook and FREE shipping.

    Bookstore Pricing (MSRP) — These suggested retail prices include a projected bookstore mark-up of 25%

    $67.16
    Best Value!
    Inclusive Access Ebook
    978-1-5165-6398-2
    We partner with both RedShelf and VitalSource to provide day-one access to students through campus bookstores. Learn more about Inclusive Access at cognella.com/inclusive-access.
    $83.95
    Binder Ready/Loose Leaf
    Talk to a rep for ISBN details
    Binder Ready versions have pages that are loose leaf, three-hole punched, and fit into any standard three-ring binder (not included). They are fully typeset, include front and back covers, and are available at a discount compared to standard paperbacks. Contact us for course adoptions; not available for individual purchase.
    $92.95 Paperback
    978-1-60927-551-8
    Standard paperback version. Contact us for course adoptions; also available for individual purchase through national wholesalers and retailers — and from our website directly — see Purchase button above.
    See more options
    $83.95 Ebook
    978-1-5165-6398-2
    Ebooks are available for individual purchase (180-day access) through either RedShelf or VitalSource.
    $148.95 Hardcover
    978-1-5165-5143-9
    Great for libraries and rental programs. Contact us for course adoptions; also available for individual purchase through national wholesalers and retailers.
    Other Formats
    Talk to a rep for details
    Other formats (spiral bind, perforated, etc.) may be available. Contact us for course adoptions; specialty formats are not available for individual purchase.